Macquarie Singers Inc. (Formerly Macquarie University Singers) Incorporated June 2017 History

Macquarie Music Makers was formed at the inception of the new Macquarie University in 1967 when Professor Sam Cohen, then deputy vice chancellor, invited John Gordon, a well-known musician to form a choir based at the University. John was a choral conductor as well as Australia's leading carillionist. In 1973, Macquarie Music Makers, under the direction of John Gordon, was formally recognised as a university society. John Gordon continued in the role of conductor until his retirement in 1980. The Macquarie Music Makers committee applied to the Concert and Theatre Committee of the university for an annual stipend to retain the services of a conductor after John's retirement. In 1980, the choir officially changed its name to Macquarie University Singers.

Peter Bray became Musical Director in 1981. Peter studied organ at Sydney Conservatorium of Music and completed a BMUS at University of Sydney. In 1984 David Kinsella, a lecturer in harpsichord at New South Wales State Conservatorium of Music became the Music Director. In 1985 Simon Wade, a graduate of the Tasmanian Conservatorium of Music, was appointed director. That year MUS performed four of his compositions.

Margaret McLaughlin was appointed musical. Director in 1987. She studied at the New South Wales Conservatorium of Music in Sydney University and was chorus master for the Sydney Philharmonia Choirs and Willoughby Symphony Choir as well as for the Australian Philharmonic Orchestra's *Auspop* series. Margot remained the Principal Conductor for over 20 years, stepping down in 2008.

In 1988, Joy Lalchere, a high school music teacher and member of the Accompanist Guild of New South Wales became rehearsal pianist for the choir. She remained Principal Accompanist for nearly 30 years. Josephine Allan became Principal Accompanist in 2017 to 2022. Jo is noted for her music and ensemble playing. She was Sydney Symphony's Principal Keyboard from 1996 to 2012 and has performed with a diversity of other companies, such as the Australian Chamber Orchestra, the Australian Opera and Ballet Orchestra, the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra. In 2023, Callum Close commences as Principal Accompanist. Callum holds a Bachelor of Music (Honours) in Pipe Organ and Choral Conducting from the University of Newcastle, as well as an A.Mus.A and A.Dip.SCSM in Classical Piano.

Macquarie Singers welcomes Dr Philip Eames to the role of Principal Conductor in 2023. Dr Philip studied piano with Dr Max Olding, AM and Dr Stephen Savage at the Queensland Conservatorium, where he was presented with the Owen Fletcher Postgraduate Award and the Fred Ellaway Prize. He completed his doctorate in 2017 at the Sydney Conservatorium on the choral music of Percy Grainger. Currently, Philip is a research associate at the Sydney Conservatorium working as part of the Spencer-Bennett NeuroMusic Collaborative, and a musicology and postgraduate lecturer at the Australian Institute of Music.

Musical Directors and Conductors 1967 - 2017

John Gordon 1967 - 1980
Peter Bray 1980 - 1983
David Kinsela 1984 - 1985
Simon Wade 1985 - 1986
Margot McLaughlin 1986 – 2008 (22 years)
Tim Chung 2008 - 2012
Dr Sarah Penicka-Smith 2013 - 2022
Dr Philip Eames 2023-

Guest and Assistant Conductors

Peter Ellis

Anthony Pasquill

Rachelle Elliott

Erzsi Marosszeky

Liz Scott

David Hood

David Taylor

Stefan Kooper

Joanna Brooke

Natalie Gooneratne

Dr Philip Eames

Principal Accompanists

Joy Lalchere (nearly 30 years until 2016) Josephine Allan 2017-2022 Callum Tolhurst-Close Jan-Sept 2023 Soowon Soo Oct 2023

Presidents

Billie Brace 1980

Mark Hicks 1987 - 1988

Barbara Sanders 1989

Joy Boyles 1990 - 1991

Martha Birch 1992

Mel Smith 1993 - 1994

Jill Kaldor 1995 - 1996

Corinna Horrigan 1997 - 1998

Peter Hume 1999 - 2000

Borys Shuter 2001

Lionel King 2002

Geoff Bell 2003 - 2004

Bryan Cox 2005 - 2008

Bob McKillop 2009 - 2011

Joan Scot 2012 - 2014

Geoff Taperell 2015 - 2018

Janet Stacey 2019-

Administration (from 2002)

Vice president: Rita Holland, Hilda Kwan, Bryan Cox, Prathapan Thillainathan, Richard Lewis, Doriana Donnelly

Secretary: Rita Holland, Joyce Nelson, Dinah Hales, Francoise Ware, Phyllis McGee, David Ham,

Prathapan Thillainathan, Megan Dunn

Treasurer: Lee Owens, Geoff Nadin, Joan Scott, Roger Mahwinney, Sharon Finn, Carmel Lemke,

Francoise Ware

Membership Secretary: Mark Hicks, Joan Scott, Felicity James, Megan Dunn, Janet Stacey, Ruolan

Lan, Doriana Donnelly

Librarian: Brenda Scully, Bernadette Flynn, Stephen Gambling, Brigitte Noble, Geoff Taperell,

Angela Gan

Publicity: Anne Swimburne, Claire Urbach, Roz Avakian, Megan Dunn, Sue Bockerman

Webmaster: Geoff Bell, Robyn Blainey, Joan Scott, Peter Hume, Michael Young, Frances Louise

E news: Geoff Bell, Andrew Michie, Frances Louise, Wendy Cairns

Concert Management: David Healy, David Goodwin, Eddie Kong, Bryan Cox, Louise Stow, Mel Smith,

Prathapan Thillainathan, Tonya Symons, Signe Duff.

Archivist: Mark Hicks, Barbara Henry, Joan Scott, Erica Wallace

Long-standing Members (from 1990)

Past Presidents:

Corinna Horrigan, Peter Hume, Borys Shuter, Jill Kaldor

Accompanist: Joy Lalchere

Members:

Betsy Donati, Steve Gambling, Margaret Murray, Janice and Hank Tuynman (who built the risers)